2002 Grand Vitara 2TD

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2007, 04:04 PM
Default 2002 Grand Vitara 2TD

Hi there,
I am new to this particular forum. I am wondering if someone could help me. I have a 2002 Grand Vitara 2TD. W while ago i have the engine management light come on, and the car went into safe mode. I read the codes and got a code forthe mass air flow circuit. So i checked the mass air flow sensor and saw that the chip in the sensor was broken, so i bought a new one and cleared the codes. Everything seemed to go fine for a while. I was out today and went through a puddle, as some of the roads today were really wet. This then caused the engine management light to come on again. I then read the fault codes and got one for the fuel pump primary circuit. I then cleared this code, and the code for the mass air flow re appeared, although the engine management light is still out. I am now at the end of my teahter with it. Has anybody had any similar problems or does anybody know how to sort it.

Regards
Stuart

Old 05-28-2007, 03:39 PM
Default RE: 2002 Grand Vitara 2TD

What part ofthe world are you from?
I expect it is the Eight valve Peugeot you have? You did not give the P code I expect the fault code is P0221.
I have had this also and had a very competent Dieselshop say it is a ghost fault.
I know that Peugeot had similar issues with the 306 diesel and they have a buletin requiring extra earth connections to the air mass meter. But be carefull as I dont know if the wiring is the same.
My experience of this vehicle would not be bullet proof engine electronicswise and something tells me that I am not alone. But it is grand when going right.

Service here is poor! We are currently using a dealer 65 miles away! It would be deframatory to speak of those locatednear to us