New member with potential new Suzuki ownership

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2019, 05:00 PM
Default New member with potential new Suzuki ownership

Hello gang. First of all thank you for having me here and tolerating the antics of a newbie.

As I'm approaching 50 years old and having an affinity for anything with 2 wheels starting with mopeds and later a 150cc scooter, I've recently come across a mint condition 1994 Intruder 800 with a hole in the case under the starter. Guy was cruising and said he heard a bang and that was it. I can get the bike for 500 bucks. It has 22,000 original miles and recently had service done on it. It's a garage kept bike with saddle bags, aftermarket seat, etc.

Now I'm a mechanic and have figured out stuff even Mercedes Benz couldn't figure out on a transmission control module on a smart car. I've rebuilt vw engines and cruised the USA in an old Vw bus and bug on engines I've built with zero problems. Saving money by putting my talents to use is the goal.

So it's with this knowledge and this story that I humbly come to you with my questions. I know replacing the engine hurts resale value. Screw it. I'm not getting any younger and I'd like the chance to cruise around town with my wife, get an ice cream, and not worry about breaking the rear axle on my scooter. I have ridden motorcycles before that I didn't own and after about an hour learning their nuances, I'm off riding with confidence.

I found an engine from a 2003 (suzuki v-twin 800) which is of course black and not chrome with a little over 6k miles which sounds great. I can get it for a about 800 bucks. The black would look cool with this gorgeous red paint and so I'd like to know if I can just remove the old engine, swap in the lower mile replacement, and off I go?